Did you get a DUI in El Cajon California?
If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI), you most likely have lots of questions about what will happen next. You may wonder if you will lose your license or if you will go to jail — and how you can find an attorney skilled enough to help with your situation.
When building a strong DUI defense, be it a first offense, third strike or involving injuries, time is of the essence. I am Daniel W. Cohen, Attorney At Law, a criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience in these cases. I am a skilled negotiator and litigator who has received a number of not-guilty verdicts for former clients.
Contact me today at 619-697-0333 for a free initial consultation.
Effective Representation From an El Cajon Drunk Driving Attorney
In California, any driver with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher can face DUI/DWI charges. Penalties with a conviction include heavy fines and the possibility of jail time and license suspension. Underage drivers who violate California's zero-tolerance policy, repeat offenders and anyone caught driving with a BAC of .16 or higher may also face enhanced penalties.
DUI charges should not be taken lightly and require the assistance of a skilled attorney. I am Daniel W. Cohen, a El Cajon DUI defense attorney with a proven track record with these types of cases. I will carefully examine your case to build a strong strategy, which may include working toward deferred sentencing or avoiding/reducing jail time.
If a case is caught in time, I also can help arrange bail and represent your interests in an Administrative Per Se Hearing with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), where driver's license suspension is determined. I also represent clients in expungement proceedings, seizing any opportunity to help you clear up your criminal record.
Don't stand alone, know your rights
For a free 30-minute consultation to discuss your DUI, contact me today. I am available to discuss your case 24 hours a day by e-mail or phone at 619-697-0333. Evening and weekend appointments, and flexible payment options may be available depending on your situation. From my La Mesa office location, I serve clients throughout San Diego County and Southern California.
Understanding the Consequences
Being criminally convicted of a DUI has numerous negative consequences, including:
- Points against your license
- Suspended driver's license
- Increased insurance costs
- Criminal record
Under the Implied Consent Law, you can be required to take a breathalyzer test when pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence. If you refuse to do so and it is your first refusal, you will lose your license for six months. If it is a subsequent refusal or subsequent offense, you will lose your license for two years.
After you have taken a breath test, you have 30 days to request a hearing from the Department of Safety to protect your driving privileges.